Advice please!

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    DAVID KING
    Participant

Sorry for being confused, but I am just beginning to trade with real money, and I am using EXTCapital, MT4.

When I want to place a buy stop order, there is a message on the ticket saying that “Open price you set must differ from the market price by at least 20 pips.” (GBP/USD). In other markets it ranges from 18 to 24 pips.

Yet I read on forums of people setting buy stops 2-3 pips above/below candles. So how could I do this?

Also stop losses have to be set more pips away than I sometimes require. Anybody else have this problem?

Cheers,

Dave.

Lewis NicolsonLewis Nicolson
    Participant

Hi dave,

Use market execution, so set a line where you would want to enter, and when the market hits that after your signal, pull the trigger.

Cheers,

Lewis

Attachments:
    You must be logged in to view attached files.
    DAVID KING
    Participant

Hi Lewis, yes you are right that would be a simpler way of doing things. But I was just experimenting and was surprised that such a large difference is required.

By the way, was reading on your other post about the stop loss problem, ie it being filled in early. Have you e_mailed your broker about it? Not ETX by any chance is it? Anyway, would love to know what they have to say. I,m going to e_mail mine…

Participant

yeh, it can be quite annoying sometime if you have 2 trades you are wanting to place, if that is the case then just open ETX twice on your computer and you can have 2 orders at the ready.

I havnt yet, I was wanting to see what rich said or one of you guys if this is normal. I’ve never had that happen to me before (or i havnt noticed). I would of understood if it went past my stop loss for a couple of pips, but before is pretty annoying…

DAVID KING
    Participant